Hi, I’m Denise…

Last week, I had to read about 160 pages of the MLA Style Manual for one of my classes. I checked at all the bookstores around campus and could not find any available copies. Desperate and confident that the internet held the key to my redemption, I went on a Google search.

If people won't allow information to be free, people like me will steal it. :)

Granted, not all English majors are tech savvy enough to actually turn their books into free information in the web. But on occasion, copies of expensive and required texts float around the internet for people like me to take. (N.B. I would have bought a copy of the MLA Style Manual regardless of whether I had found a free copy of it online.)

So the other day, in my hour of dire need, I was in the graduate student’s office scouring the internet for an illegal copy. I somehow ended up on a torrent search website. But it wasn’t just any torrent website – it was a torrent search website with pop-ups.

Okay, pop-ups are okay. I understand websites have to generate revenue to keep them online blah blah blah. I get it. But how the hell I got so lucky that I got the pop-up window that I did, I don’t know.

Okay, so, I’m looking around the website and this pop-up comes on. Now, I had no idea that the speakers on my computer were on full blast, but I found out when a voice came on and said:

Hi, I’m Denise. And I’ll be your horny matchmaker today.

Piece of shit.

And the office was quiet as hell too.

And now everyone thinks I’m a pervert.

Piece of shit.

Part of me considered explaining to no one in particular that it was a pop-up ad and that I wasn’t actually looking for horny matches. But it wasn’t worth it. I let it go.

The moral of the story? Pirate stuff on your own damn computer.

P.S. Even though (or maybe, because) we are in tough economic times, please do your best to respect digital and print rights. :)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ahromada
    Sep 12, 2011 @ 15:48:03

    Haha! What happened to the multiple copies of the MLA handbook we bought a couple years ago when we were doing Buki’s thing?

    Reply

What are you thinking?

