On RS: The Sheepdogs

I am going to be honest: I didn’t much care that The Sheepdogs were on the cover of Rolling Stone as much as one of the guys in the band look like Jacob Marshall from Mae. After flipping to where the feature was and discovering (with some dismay) that it was not Marshall at all, I decided to read it since I was there already.

If you read RS, then you know that they don’t always talk about their fronties with a relish. The feature on Lady Gaga was written with more obvious admiration than the feature on Katy Perry even though one should be able to say that they are equal in pop appeal, although to who they appeal may vary. Anyway, this particular feature made me smile, made me laugh, and made me feel bad in all the right times. By the time I finished it, I was in front of a computer, on the Sheepdog’s MySpace, listening to their tracks.

The Sheepdog on the cover of Rolling Stone

This post is not going to be a review but a flirting guide. I’ll tell you what I found were their selling points and maybe you’ll want to get to know them better.

For me to say that theirs is “new music” is unfair, not just because the band has been together for six and a half years, but also because their music reflects so much of their influence that it’s not really new. Their music is really more like, redesigned and repackaged Southern rock and soul. But don’t let that stop you from giving them a listen. Their music still has a charm that makes it unique.

Here are a few suggestions (Are you on their MySpace yet?):

  • Southern Dreaming
  • The One You Belong To
  • Let It All Show
  • Hang Onto Yourself

I only checked iTunes and it seems only “Hang Onto Yourself” is available for now, which is a real shame. I would love to have Southern Dreaming to listen to when I feel like dancing a little. Note: I don’t dance, so trust me, any band that makes me want to dance is worth checking out. Haha. No seriously. Check them out.

I’m going to scour the interwebs for Southern Dreaming and Let It All Show. :)

Have you listened to a new band recently? Or if you’re a band loyalist, tell me about them in the comments. What do you like most about them?

What are you thinking?

