My Summer To-Do List

Even though I’ve been out of school for more than a month now, my summer hasn’t officially begun. You’re going to laugh, but because Doctor Flash was only in NJ for a month, I had to put most of my life on hold. A month goes by fast, if you are not careful, and because I expect he will not be back until the middle of December, I was going to make each day he was here count.

He left today *cries* which means that my summer is officially open. This summer is particularly important for me because it is my last as a mostly-in-NJ resident and my first as a graduate student. I don’t know how much of a life I am going to have once the fall quarter begins, so here are a few things I hope to do before the summer is over.

MY SUMMER TO-DO LIST

  1. Tie dye either shirts or sheets. Even though I consider myself a flower child, I am a little embarrassed to admit that I do not own any tie-dyed shirts, store-bought or home-made. Not everyone agrees with tie-dyed items, but I think they are a quick pick-me-up for those days. I’m thinking I’ll dye a few shirts, but I wouldn’t mind dying some sheets as well, since I think I’ll have a few very lonely nights when I move to Athens (being away from my family and all).

    I really love this pattern, but I think I'll stick to something a little bit more... easy.

  2. Visit Coney Island.I’ve lived in the tri-state for five years, but I’ve never been to Coney Island. In fact, there are a few touristy things that I haven’t done, but that’s a different post altogether. Anyway, since it’s the summer, I imagine there should be loads of fun things to do there. And this possibly being my last free summer, I am all about fun.

    I shouldn't have used this image because I actually have an awful fear of heights. There's no way I'm getting on The Cyclone if Doctor Flash is not in town.

  3. Have a Benny’s pizza. I have worked at the DD in Hoboken for almost four years now and I am ashamed, and I mean ashamed, to say that I have never had a Benny Tudino’s pizza. I can’t really give a real reason as to why I have never gone to get a slice other than the fact that most Benny’s employees are DD customers. I would feel weird being at the other side of the counter.
  4. Hit the beach with my family(traditional). I say traditional because I never really ask for anything else on my birthday other than a day at the beach. The water and the waves are like friends I’ve never had… okay, that might have been overstating it. The point is that I would forgo more “traditional” birthday presents for a day of sun, sand, and smiles.

    Look at that smiling face. You can't buy that with birthday presents. Even though birthday presents are nice. :)

  5. Find a nice apartment in Athens. For the next x years, I’m going to be living in Athens and I want a living space that I can call home. When I say nice, I don’t really imagine anything lofty (pun intended?); rather, I am looking for something that will enable a generally easy life – a washer&dryer, a clean and working bathroom, and enough space to dump my stuff in.
  6. Make a list of things to take to Athens. Even though I will be living in Athens for most of the year, I will still think of NJ as my home. Furthermore, it’s not like my parents can ever forgive me if I ever decided I don’t want to come back. As such, I have decided to leave some of my precious things in Jersey, so that I have a reason to come home. Plus, moving my entire life requires money, and I don’t have much to cough up. Anyway, I need to carefully select the essential, probably academically-relevant, items that I want to take with me.
  7. Clean out my “side” of the shared bedroom. I should say, our living space here is quite small. Again, possibly overstating it. Our living space is very small. This means that for the last 5 years, I’ve had to share a room with my Nana, god bless her. I will say, I’ve invaded this room. In a bad way. Before I leave, I wanna make sure it resembles the room she had before I came to this house.
  8. Decide (finally) whether I want my RS subscription cancelled. This is something really stupid, I think. I can’t live without my Rolling Stone but I don’t know whether I’ll even have any time to read any of them. Unread magazines are a waste of money, and I don’t like wasting money.
  9. Brush up on my French. This is more academic-related. Anyway, when you don’t use a language, you lose control of that language. Tragic but true.
  10. Get my hands on some Capote books.In particular, I want to read Breakfast at Tiffany’s and The Grass Harp. I’ve never read anything by Capote, which makes me ashamed to call myself an English major. I hope that this little predicament changes by the end of the summer.

    This is a lovely shot of Capote, don't you think?

I’ll keep this list on the sidebar of my blog, so that we can keep track of how well I’m doing on my to-do list. To be honest, I am not all that good with staying on top of these things, but maybe having it posted online will motivate me to cross everything out sooner rather than later. :)

What’s on your summer to-do list? Have you done anything on my list? Should I add anything?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cait
    Jun 27, 2011 @ 21:54:39

    #11 – visit Cait in NYC :) lol

    Benny’s is awesome!!! The pizzas are so huge there!

    Reply

    • sm1tt3nk1tt3n
      Jun 27, 2011 @ 22:08:33

      Haha! I will definitely visit you, don’t worry! Where in NYC are you, anyway?

      I’ve heard that the pizzas in Benny’s are awesome, but no one seems to be able to tell me exactly what about them is awesome – other than their size, that is. Maybe you can give more detail?

      Reply

  2. Cait
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 19:39:25

    Chelsea Market :)

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Started: Room Clean Out « Background Noise

What are you thinking?

