Sometimes, you just have to keep going.

Since school is pretty much over (just finals this week and next), I’ve found myself with some extra time. Last week, I decided I’d use some of that time to go running.

Because I hadn’t gone running in a long time (and I mean, a long time), I told myself that I had to set a reasonable goal for myself. I also told myself that, regardless of whether I reach that goal or not, I would not beat myself up over it. So I got dressed, started to blast my running mix, and I was off.

Well, to keep the story short, I didn’t reach my goal. I did about 75% of my goal, which isn’t bad. In my mind though, all I cared about was that it wasn’t good either.

I moped. I loathed myself. I was angry. I told myself I wouldn’t do that, but I couldn’t help it. I felt like I set an attainable goal for myself, and I couldn’t even… :(

My boyfriend, in his infinite wisdom, reminded me that I was wrong to set a goal for myself if I had no idea of what I could do. This is true. Still…

The next day, I found myself debating going running. I knew that I couldn’t put myself through the same humiliation. And I’m a comfort-feeder. If I felt horrible afterwards, it will just do me more harm than good.

But I put my running shoes on and went out.

And I went out the day after that.

And the one after that.

Because there’s a change going on, not on my body, but on my mind. Somewhere in the back of my head, there’s a voice telling me that I couldn’t expect myself to improve my stamina by lying on the couch. I was better off on the dirt. I have to keep going.

Well, I reached my goal yesterday. And I ran the same distance today. It wasn’t easy, no. But I made it because I stuck with it. It’s a reminder, I suppose, that quitting half-way is self-proclaimed defeat. Sometimes the best thing to do is keep going.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. toasty redhead
    May 14, 2011 @ 04:17:48

    Right on!

    Reply

What are you thinking?

