When you like someone’s dog…

Before anything else, I should confess that I avoid most of my ex’s at all costs. There are about three who have made a successful transition from lover to friend, but that’s not usually the case. Now that that’s out of the way…

A few years ago, one of my ex’s moved two blocks away from our apartment. School was a convenient excuse not to see her (yes, her). Three weeks ago, I got a creepy text that said she was right behind me and when I turned around, well, there she was.

Pleased, perhaps, that she has finally seen my shadow (and the rest of my person, of course), I haven’t had a quiet moment. There’s always a text message, there’s always a train ride… Something. The woman is gonna be around.

But the other day, she “picked me up” (I told her that I was busy doing laundry but she drove to my house anyway. Oh and why she drove when she lived a sneeze away from my house, I will find out later) and when I got into her car, there was a charming little Yorkie.

My ex then asked me if I wanted to go to the park,  I said yes.

She asked me if I wanted to go to Liberty State Park. I hesitated, but I said yes.

She asked me if I wanted to hold Princess’s leash, I said yes.

She asked me if I wanted to go running with Princess, I said yes (good thing I wore running shoes and sweat pants).

She asked me if I would like to do it again, I said yes.

So, recently, I’ve been pretending to enjoy her conversation, just so she’d keep me around her dog. The thing is I’ve noticed that the text and the conversations are crossing over into a familiar tone, one that we’ve left in the past.

Now, I don’t want to tell her off in case she decides that I don’t deserve to be around Princess. Besides, she hasn’t said or done anything that has made me uncomfortable, but I think she might be getting the wrong idea.

So, how do you tell someone you like their dog but not them?

I need my own dog. :(

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Flash Gordon
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:44:53

    I’m your puppy. Why don’t you introduce me to her? :p

    Reply

    • sm1tt3nk1tt3n
      Apr 27, 2011 @ 15:49:51

      It would be way, waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay, awkward.

      And you are not my puppy-puppy. You’re my Puppy.

      I want a terrier. *sigh* Birthday gift? :p

      Reply

  2. Babble Ball
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 05:08:37

    Cool post, I have two Dobermans myself.

    Reply

  3. ahromada
    May 01, 2011 @ 03:33:25

    I’m partial to golden retrievers.

    Reply

What are you thinking?

