Redeeming Anberlin

I say “redeeming” because I have long ago decided that I didn’t like their music. No, really. Despite the Amazon recommendations, despite the iTunes recommendations, despite the thumbs up I occasionally gave their songs on Pandora, I refused to download their songs. I didn’t like them.

Until Sunday anyway.

I bookmarked the song “Adelaide” on Pandora and saw it was by Anberlin. Then I remembered giving their discography a good listen a few years ago. I remembered thinking that I already have bands who sound like these do0ds on my (then) Zen, so I decided to erase the name Anberlin from my vocabulary from then on. So why the hell am I bookmarking one of their songs now?

I don’t really know. Anyway, let this playlist I created be my official vindication of their music.

Redeeming Anberlin – Runs 46 minutes

Song title : Album

  1. The Feel Good Drag : Never Take Friendship Personally
  2. A Whisper and a Clamour : Cities
  3. Inevitable : Cities
  4. Breaking : New Surrender
  5. Take Me (As You Found Me) : Dark is the Way, Light is a Place
  6. The Unwinding Cable Car : Cities
  7. You Belong Here : Dark is the Way, Light is a Place
  8. Adelaide : Cities
  9. Haight St. : New Surrender
  10. Down : Dark is the Way, Light is a Place
  11. *fin : Cities

As you can probably tell, a lot of the songs are from the album Cities, which I think is by far the most accessible of their albums. Never Take Friendship Personally, unfortunately, will not get any raves from me since I found their rock to be on the heavy side, of which I am not a fan. If you want to go out and buy one of their records, Cities would be the best choice, although Dark is the Way, Light is a Place comes a close second.

Enjoy.

Oh, and I’m currently trying to come up with a spring classical music playlist so watch out for that. :)

What are you thinking?