Mae’s The Everglow

At this point, there’s no reason to write a review about “The Everglow.” Released in 2005, this album probably has a million rave-iews out there already. So I’ll just talk about the 2006 me who stumbled on “The Everglow” and fell in love with the artists behind it.

What happened was simple: I bought The Spill Canvas’ “One Fell Swoop” CD from Amazon.com, “The Everglow” came up as a recommendation, I took a gamble and bought it, and Mae ended up becoming my favorite band.

Album cover of "The Everglow" by Mae

Or maybe it was something different but equally simple: I was in a musical rut and I was looking for an artist that actually made music, not just the usual stuff that passes off as “music” these days. “The Everglow” was a magical experience, bringing strong guitars and bass, colorful keyboards, and a fearless drum line. What I ended up loving about it the most was the fact that each layer of sound was its own musical creation. The genius, it seemed to me, was that somehow everything worked in harmony. I was enchanted.

There is something else, too, something which I don’t think I can fully explain. I connect with the songs on this album on an emotional level.  When I sing the words, they stay with me the rest of the day. When I finish listening to the entire album, I feel lighter, cleaner. That probably did not make sense at all. :(

Anyway, Mae tweeted earlier today that for the month of April, “The Everglow” is available for $5 from Amazon. Wow, if I needed more than one digital copy of the album, I would jump on that offer. But I don’t.

So I decided I would just give away 3 copies of the album. I love it so much that I want you or your friend to get a listen. I love it so much that I would share it with you or your friend – legally. I really love it that much.

And all you have to do is this: Comment on this post telling me why you think you or your friend can use a copy of “The Everglow.” [Remember to check “Notify me on follow-up comments” so you’ll be up to date.] I’ll accept comments until April 22, 2011 at 11.59 pm EST. After that, I will gift the mp3 download via Amazon.com to the 3 best commenters. :)

I’m excited to hear from you guys!

Edit: I just want to make it clear that what I’m giving away is the mp3 download available from Amazon.com. Sadly, like the iTunes download, that does not come with the artwork. :(

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aaron
    Apr 06, 2011 @ 23:39:05

    I love this album. I’ve long wanted a copy of it. I want to be able to view the artwork while I am listening to it (as was intended).
    It would be so nice to be able to rediscover this album. It’s the album that convinced me I was a fan of this band.

    Reply

  2. ben v
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 00:17:05

    ive downloaded the album off itunes and downloaded all songs and didnt get the album booklet, and when it says turn the page i never had anything to turn so i think it would be sweet for me to actually participate with the song!

    Reply

  3. Richard
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 04:43:11

    I could use a copy of The Everglow because it was the first album to really get me involved in music. I had just got my first ipod 4 years ago, and was looking for music to listen to, I stumbled on The Fray and Mae, which I managed to obtain through methods I regret.. I then set out to purchase these albums in hard copy, and though I have a collection of The Fray’s music, I could never find myself a physical copy of Mae’s CDs in the CD shops (I live in Malaysia).

    I was soon recruited into a band to play keyboards, and it came just in time as I loved Rob’s piano work in The Everglow. We played Suspension at our first gig for our school, and though my keyboard could hardly be heard, the sound system was crap and we sucked, it was my first experience on stage with some guys who went on to become some of my closest friends.

    Because of The Everglow, I later started playing guitar, and have been ever since. I’ve never looked back, and my life has never been better. I’ve performed at a few more gigs with my friends and it’s been a great ride so far. I thank Mae and I’ve always wanted to witness Mae live, but I never got the chance. The closest I’ve got to Mae was obtaining a limited copy of the (m)orning EP that was sold during their (m)orning tour from a fellow Mae fan (thanks Jessica!).

    I love Mae, and The Everglow is my favourite album from them. More people in Malaysia need to hear them! I’m still doing my best to spread the love after I first heard Mae.

    Reply

  4. Dee
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 12:02:39

    When I was in high school, my brother made me listen to Mistakes We Knew We Were Making. I guess it was the first time I literally fell in love with a song. We ordered their album but someone borrowed it even before I got to listen to it. (some albums, I do have in my possession.) And years after, when I learned that Mae was coming to the Philippines, I was just ecstatic! I went to the show and it really was one of the best moments I could look back to. I guess it all boils down to the fact that Mae and their music are one of the few things that give me this incredible feeling. I’d like to feel that way again. :)

    Reply

  5. Trackback: The Everglow Follow-up « Background Noise

What are you thinking?

