Recommended: Sail by the Stars

There’s a post in this blog somewhere in which I talk about looking for a new band to obsess over, as my beloved Mae has decided it was time for them to go. :( That said, I have been looking around for artists that will charm me, hopefully in the same way that Mae did. I was pleased when I came across this artist.

Say hi to Josh, everyone! :)

Sail by the Stars is just one man hiding behind the name (like Owl City and Dashboard Confessional). I am tempted to say that the music is electro-pop, heavy reliant on guitar, and a la The Weepies when acoustic.

I find it extremely difficult to talk about what’s good about SBTS’ music without talking about all the artists who are in some way similar. I guess this means that Josh successfully took elements of what made other good music good and made them his.

  • His guitar riffs are reminiscent of early Daphne Loves Derby and Dashboard Confessional, only his are cheerier.
  • The vocal work is cooler than Dashboard Confessional (I was never a fun of strained high notes anyway), and livelier than Owl City, somewhere along the lines of Sleepaway or Second Hand Serenade.
  • The lyrics are witty in an Owl City Way, but more intimate in the way “Sunsets and Carcrashes” and “Our Song” by The Spill Canvas are.

I could go on, but then you get the idea.

I sifted through the discography of Sail by the Sea (this is what I mean when I say I “checked out a band,” btw) and fell in love with “The Acoustic EP.” That is not to say that “The Night Owl EP” and “A Sunshine State of Mind” are not good collections in their own right.

I'm sorry the img is so tiny! :(

Tracklist

  1. Lovebug
  2. Icebergs are for Penguins
  3. If My room Were a Rocketship
  4. A Glowworm Never Grows Dim
  5. April Showers Bring May Flowers
  6. I Wish I May, I Wish I Might
  7. Sometimes I Forget to Breathe

I actually have the songs playing while I write this post. I should say that his music makes me get up and do a silly-dance. It makes me smile.

The EP is $6.93 on iTunes and I think that amount is totally worth it considering that all of the songs are excellent. If, however, your music is on a budget, here are the EP’s gems:

The Acoustic EP (Econo list)

  • Lovebug
  • A Glowworm Never Grows Dim
  • April Showers Bring May Flowers

Click here to visit SBTS’ PureVolume page. I do recommend heading over there to hear some of his tunes (for free! Some of them are even downloadable!) and find out a little about the man behind the music.

Enjoy. :)

P.S. If you give his songs a listen, you’ll see he has a habit of NOT ending in the dominant chord. This frustrates me a little even though I don’t think it should. Just sharing.

What are you thinking?

