Favorite Chocolate Chip Recipe

If there is one thing that can account for my not-so-slender figure, it’s my love for all things sweet. Recently, I took up baking thanks to a recommendation from a friend who knew all sorts of nifty ways to decompress.
This recipe is by no means original, but I did experiment here and there so that the cookies will come out exactly the way I like them.
Favorite Chocolate Chip Cookie

I <3 these cookies.

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 2 cups chocolate chip morsels
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 1/8 vegetable oil
  • 2 tbsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt

A note on the ingredients: The original recipe required 1 cup of butter-flavored shortening, which I didn’t like. If you like, you can try 1 cup of butter instead of the proportion above, but I found using that makes the dough temperamental (for the lack of a better word).

Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease baking sheets.

In a mixing bowl, combine brown sugar, white sugar, butter, and vegetable oil. Blen until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well after adding. Add vanilla and mix.

In a separate bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking soda. Add to butter-sugar mixture a little bit at a time. Add chocolate chips, yay!

When I mix the chocolate chips in and round the dough, I really enjoy using my hands. Cookies need love too! :)

Round 1tsp dough and flatten onto sheet. Bakes in 6-8 minutes. Allow 5 minutes to cool on sheet, then cool on wire rack.

I’ve found that flattening the dough helps the cookie cook evenly. Also, 1 tsp. of dough may seem like such a small size, but I think it’s better to have a bunch of small, manageable cookies than it is to have a few dozen regular sized cookies. The way I make mine, I am able to make about 90 small cookies. Yay for cookies to share! If you like regular sized cookies, this recipe makes about 2 dozen regular sized cookies.

 Happy baking! :)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose Sterling
    Mar 04, 2011 @ 13:27:19

    This really looks so perfect! I love the color of your cookies. I usually make my cookies dark brow. It is not overcooked but there are some areas that are overcooked and I really don’t know why. I always follow the recipe right.

    Reply

    • sm1tt3nk1tt3n
      Mar 04, 2011 @ 14:30:22

      It might be that the oven you are using does not heat evenly (My oven does the same). One remedy I’ve found is to turn the tray around halfway through the baking time. Hope this helps! :)

      Reply

  2. Piano Schoenhut
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 07:14:51

    This looks chewy! I love chewy cookies than the crunchy ones. But I don’t know how to make my cookies chewy. Maybe I should try your recipe.

    Reply

    • sm1tt3nk1tt3n
      Mar 07, 2011 @ 07:45:45

      The trick to making chewy cookies is to play with the proportion between brown sugar and white sugar. Pretty much, you want to have more brown sugar that white, since brown sugar makes it chewy. That’s why in this recipe there’s 1cup of brown, and only 1/2 of white – I like my cponies chewy too.

      Oh, the brown sugar-white sugar thing works with any cookie recipe you have, not just this one.

      Reply

What are you thinking?

