An Emerging Genre?

Maybe after reading this you will say that I am exaggerating, that, strictly speaking, what’s going on is not the creation of a new genre. Maybe you will tell me that the only thing is that people are relearning the value of a combined effort. But I will invite you to look at the hits of 2010 and see for yourself – artists realize its power and they are not likely to forget anytime soon.

Let me list a few of the songs that made charts (in no particular order):

  1. California Gurls: Katy Perry feat. Snoop Dogg
  2. Love the Way You Lie : Eminem feat. Rihanna
  3. Airplane: B.o.B feat. Hayley Williams
  4. OMG: Usher feat. Will.i.am
  5. Break Your Heart: Taio Cruz feat. Ludacris

If you haven’t noticed yet, last year was a big year for collaborations.

And vice versa?

I don’t mean to make it sound like collaborations haven’t been done before. I only mean to suggest that I don’t believe it caught artists’ attention to this extent before. I might even go so far as to say that artists look forward to working with other artists these days. I think this is particularly desirable for an artist on-the-rise to align him/herself with an artist already established in the industry.

When I think about it, there’s nothing really bad about collaborations. I mean, even in everyday life, we like collaborations, right? If, say, you like peanut butter and you also like grape jelly, then a peanut butter-and-jelly sandwich sounds like a great idea. In the same way, if you like Lady Gaga and you also like Beyonce, chances are you’d like them together, hence “Telephone.”

But let me be honest: I like peanut butter, I like jelly, and I enjoy peanut butter-and-jelly sammies as much as the next 8-year-old, but more often than not, I like enjoying my peanut butter on its own. Same deal with the jelly. It’s just that both of them, though amazing when combined, are also great in their own right.

So maybe I was exaggerating and collaborations won’t be listed as a genre in your nearest F.Y.E. I wouldn’t be surprised, though, if we see some more collaborations this year. Artists, like food, are sometimes better together.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Casa Verdugo: Why I Didn’t Download It « Background Noise

What are you thinking?

