LDR Irk#1

When my boyfriend and I were deciding on whether to go on this LDR, or long-distance relationship, my friends (I don’t know about his) generally thought that it would be a bad idea. That’s what people say, right, LDRs are just doomed to fail. In our case, there really was no chance it would work: we’d be 5 timezones apart and we’d both be really too busy to keep in touch.

Well, here we are, 6 months into our LDR, and I thought I would share one of its irks.

 

</3

I know, I know. I’m so selfish. But seriously, it sucks.

This is especially true for me and my boyfriend. See, when we say we’re like each other’s best friend, we mean it. We rant to each other, we rave with each other, and we wait tragedies out. In our current situation, it’s difficult to do any of that. While he’s stressing over his med school things, I’m stressing about my grad school hope things, and it’s easy to feel like we’re going through them without each other. The best we can do is type a few words, send it via some technology, and hope for a response.

It’s not the same.

Can’t comfort feed. Can’t drive aimlessly so you can feel like you’re getting away. Can’t hide away in each other arms and just hope that your troubles disappear.

I don’t mean to say that he doesn’t care about me any more. He does. It’s just hard to feel like he does because there’s this other 2 and a half years of our relationship when we were joined at the hip and I can’t stop myself from noticing the difference.

Final thought: An LDR isn’t easy but, when you think about it, neither are regular relationships.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: LDR Irk#2 « Background Noise

What are you thinking?

