Happy 5 Years in America!

Initially, I was making a list of all the things that I’ve learned in America over the 5 years that I’ve lived here. After a while though, I noticed that they sounded a lot like complaints and since this is suppose to be a celebratory entry, I’ll just talk about the 5 things that would not have happened to me if I were not in America.

  1. I would not have learned to appreciate tropical climate. It sounds silly, I know, but when you live in a country where it’s hot and sunny everyday, it kinda gets old. After 5 years here, though, I miss the daily hot and sunny weather. I miss the warm ocean waters you can swim in even if it’s in the middle of December (Hi Gaby, we are still hitting the beaches when I come home, right?). I even miss the rainy season because when it rains, friends can take a walk and get soaked and fall in love. Plus, after the rain, the world just feels… refreshed.

    Sunset at Manila Bay (c/o Dept. of Tourism)

  2. I would not have studied literature. I’ll be the first to admit, I’ve always been a literature baby, but I never imagined I could ever study for it as a career. I am glad that I went for it, though. My work only every feels like work when it piles up. It’s otherwise absolutely marvelous.
  3. I would not have experienced life as a working student. Back home, my parents could afford to send me to college so I would just have to do the student thing. I value my education more knowing that I paid sweat and blood for it. Having to work for my education also helped me develop a sense of pride in myself because my dad did the same thing I did. Anyway, that’s another story.

    Kitten as a Dunkin Cup posing with Zee

  4. I would not have known how sweet my grandmother is in real life. She left for America a few years before I was born. She went back to the Philippines once but I was too young to remember. My memories of her as a child were mostly of telephone conversations on Saturday night (Saturday morning NJ time) and toys she sent me. Now I can attest to the fact that she is actually a real darling. (I hate this picture of me, I look scary, my lips are extra shiny for some reason, but I think my nana and I look good together.)

    Grandma with Kitten

  5. I would not have met Andy. I would say that this explains itself, but maybe you don’t know him. He’s only the greatest friend a girl can have. So great that you won’t be afraid to say, I think I love him more than just a friend. So great that he’ll love you like that right back.  (Don’t worry, guys. Those sunglasses have already been destroyed accidentally maliciously, hehe.)

Kitten with lovey Andy

There you have it, my 5 things for the 5 years that I’ve been in America. When I first left, I thought I would hate it. Sometimes I do. But at the end of the day, I’m happy I came here.

Happy 5 years! :)

 

What are you thinking?

