Worse than Crack

It’s the first thing I do in the morning. It’s the last thing I do at night. While in school or at work, I have to fight myself not to do it.

Sometimes, I can’t help myself. I think, It’ll only be a minute. So I do it, hoping I would feel better afterward. I never do. In fact, sometimes I feel worse.

No, I’m not smoking. It’s worse. It’s called TheGradCafe.com.

The site is essentially a leaks page on graduate applications. What people do is go on the site and report correspondence they have received from schools, which include invites to open-houses, acceptances, rejections, and waitlists.

So now every five minutes I refresh my browser hoping that someone already received their acceptance, which means I will get mine some correspondence soon. Even as I’m writing this, the page is loading in another browser tab. This thing worse than crack, yo.

This site is not for the paranoid, the easily obsessed, and the self-berating. In short, me.

Let me share today’s source of misery:

I knew it was going to be competitive but DAMN.

Target class size of 6. Wow. But then again, I kind of knew that when I applied. Brown U is very, very generous with their funding and they won’t be able to do that unless they limit the number of people they admit.

16 offers out of 450 applicants.

I’m gonna go cry now.

What are you thinking?

