Wanted: The Next Most Listened-To Band

I am fiercely loyal. This applies to most everything: friends, brands, and routines. So when my favorite band of all time – yes, all time – Mae, announced last year that they were going on hiatus indefinitely (disbanding, worded kindly for the weak of heart), I was broken.

I consider myself a Mae girl through and through. I followed them from Destination Beautiful, through Singularity *shivers*, and to (e)vening. Their performance as a band was the most consistent that I have found, and I don’t just mean their stage presence. I was impressed, and still am, by the standard to which they have written their music and so I built my iPod life around their songs.

But as they are moving on, so should I, and I’m out to find the next band to listen to on three-peat. Here are the current leaders (in no particular order):

The Spill Canvas

Another band I have followed early on, although to other TSC fans I got on board pretty late. I followed them since “Sunsets and Carcrashes,” which I consider is most wrist-slashable. They lost some of my attention after releasing “No Really, I’m Fine,” but I’ve been back on board since “Formalities.”

OneRepublic

I’ll be honest, this is one of the two artists listed in my iTunes library which I will be very embarassed if anyone ever saw. That doesn’t mean I don’t love them; they’re listed as one of the leaders for a reason. However, songs like “Stop and Stare” and “Apologize” have been overplayed and overused that they lost their magic. Current faves are “Say (All I Need)” and “Secrets” (also currently being overplayed).

Relient K

Thanks to Amazon.com’s recommendations, I found them and worked my way backwards through their discography starting with Mmhmm.  “Forget and Not Slow Down” has a special place in my heart, especially the song “Savannah.”

Owl City

Honestly, how can anyone resist Adam Young? He had me with “Fireflies” and “Dental Care.” He is releasing his sophomore album this year and I can’t wait. Wait, if he’s just one guy, does he qualify as a band? This is Jack’s Mannequin all over again.

I know that wasn’t a very long list, but my loyalty (to bands and to my musical taste) prevents me from expanding this list. Have any suggestions for great bands?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Recommended: Sail by the Stars « Background Noise

What are you thinking?

