In the Rain

What I really wanted to was dance in the rain, but when I opened the door there was a pretty little butterfly, by the storm window, who was trying to hide from the rain. I grabbed my camera (a mere 10 steps from the door) but when I returned the butterfly was gone. First lesson of the day: Always have your camera in tow.

Then I threw the dancing idea out the window completely and decided to take advantage of what photo opportunities there were.

First, an experiment with moving water. Following Scott Bourne’s advice, I manage to scrape the following images. I was on shutter priority, because I feel it gives me more control.

f/6.6, ISO-80, for 1/2 sec

f/6.6, ISO-80, for 1/2 sec

Sadly the one above needed heavily editing to be even barely usable. I’m not a purist, but I like to get the right shot from the camera if I can. Anyway, even after editing this one is still subpar.

The next two would have been gorgeous if I had exposed it correctly. These also went through some intense photo editing (and my lens had raindrops on it. Eeep!).

f/6.6., ISO-80, for 1/5 sec

f/6.6, ISO-80, for 1/5 sec

Still experimenting with moving water but instead of highlighting movement, freezing it.

f/3, ISO-254, for 1/30 sec

At 1/30 sec, you can see a little bit of movement in the puddle, but I did a better job of capturing the ripples at 1/100 sec.

f/3, ISO-400, for 1/100 sec

 

f/3, ISO-400, for 1/100 sec

That last one would have been really great if I didn’t have rainwater on my lens.

f/3, ISO-283, for 1/100 sec

 

f/3, ISO-268, for 1/100 sec

Now for some macro shots:

For an impromptu photo session it wasn’t bad. I would have been able to take more, if I didn’t take so long trying to perfect the gutter rivers. (I had taken so long by the time I was done with those the rain had almost completely stopped.)

Taken an impromptu photo excursion recently? Tell me about it!

What are you thinking?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

